Pan Borneo Highway in Sarawak

Updated on 2016-06-04

2,239 kilometer-long
Pan-Borneo Highway

The Pan-Borneo Highway was built in 1986 to link the two East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak.

It begins in the district of Sematan in Sarawak, and passes through Kuching, Serian, Sri Aman, Sarikei, Sibu, Bintulu, Miri, Limbang, Lawas, Kota Kinabalu, Sandakan and Tawau.

Sri Aman Town is off the Pan Borneo Highway

Between Sabah and Sarawak, the highway passed through two halves of  Brunei.

As of today, the Pan-Borneo Highway is 93 percent completed, with a remainder of a 50-kilometre missing link from Kalabakan to Serudong.


Pan Borneo Highway fact sheet

1) The Trans Borneo Highway was first talked about in the 1960s and when Malaysia was formed.

2) The building of the renamed Pan Borneo Highway was finally included in the Barisan Nasional manifesto of the last general election.

3) The current trunk road is 87% two-lane single carriageway. The completed highway will be four-lane dual carriageway.

4) The width of one existing lane on the trunk road is 3m. The new highway calls for each lane to be 3.5m wide. A central divider will be 4m.

5) The highway between Sarawak and Sabah is estimated at 1,700km. Sarawak’s portion will span 1,076km.

6) Travel time across Sarawak should reduce from 19 hours to 12 hours.

7) The new speed limit will be 100km/h across flat terrain (up from the current 70km/h), 80km/h on rolling terrain (from 60km/h) and 60km/h over mountainous terrain (from 50km/h).

8) New concrete bridges will replace metal ones.

9) The building period in Sarawak is divided into different packages. Starting now is a 40km upgrade to the Bakun Dam junction, and next is a 40km new road between Tanjung Datu-Sematan.The 740km Sematan-Miri stretch begins in the third quarter of next year.

10) Highway construction induces a multiplier effect of four times to the economy, based on studies of the North-South Expressway.