Last Updated on Thursday, 08 September, 2016 10:19:12 PM

List of Universities and Colleges in Sarawak  |  List of Universities and Colleges in Sabah  |

Kolej Laila Taib (owned by Yayasan Sarawak)

Kolej Laila Taib
(owned by Yayasan Sarawak)


323 Persiaran Brooke, Sibu Sarawak, Malaysia. Tel : 084-311888, Fax : 084-319888. 2012

Kolej Laila Taib (Previously known as : Kolej Bersatu Sarawak)

323, Persiaran Brooke, 96000 Sibu, Sarawak.
Telephone No. 084-311 888
Fax No. 084-319 888



Kolej Bersatu Sarawak (UCS) Institut Eksekutif Kuching Campus

Level 3, Crown Towers, 88 Jalan Pending, 93450 Kuching, Sarawak.

Tel: 082-345680
Fax: 082-345682




Kolej Laila Taib (Previously known as : Kolej Bersatu Sarawak)

1 Diploma in Architecture 94 581 (Architecture and Town Planning) 23/05/2006 - 22/05/2011
2 Diploma in Architecture 94 581 (Architecture and Town Planning) Starting 23/05/2011
3 Diploma In Business Management 90 345 (Management and Administration) 24/06/2001 - 23/06/2006
4 Diploma In Business Management 92 345 (Management and Administration) 24/06/2006 - 23/06/2011
5 Diploma in Business Management 97 345 (Management and Administration) Starting 24/06/2011
6 Diploma In Civil Engineering 91 526 (Civil Engineering) 24/06/2001 - 23/06/2006
7 Diploma In Civil Engineering 93 526 (Civil Engineering) 24/06/2006 - 23/06/2011
8 Diploma in Civil Engineering 93 526 (Civil Engineering) Starting 24/06/2011
9 Diploma In Electrical And Electronic Engineering 91 523 (Electronics and Automation) 24/06/2001 - 23/06/2006
10 Diploma In Electrical And Electronic Engineering 92 523 (Electronics and Automation) 24/06/2006 - 23/06/2011
11 Diploma in Electrical and Electronic Engineering 94 523 (Electronics and Automation) Starting 24/06/2011
12 Diploma In Quantity Surveying 95 526 (Civil Engineering) 14/08/2001 - 13/08/2006
13 Diploma In Quantity Surveying 99 526 (Civil Engineering) 14/08/2006 - 13/08/2009
14 Diploma In Quantity Surveying 99 526 (Civil Engineering) 13/08/2009 - 12/08/2014

The present development taking place in Sibu, such as the new airport terminal building and the two institutions of higher learning – Kolej Laila Taib (KLT) and UCTS.

Kolej Bersatu Sarawak (UCS United College Sarawak) changed its name to Kolej Laila Taib (KLT).

The official launch of KLT by Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud was held on March 1, 2010, the birth day of the late Puan Sri Amar Laila Taib.

UCS board of directors decided to donate the college to the state of Sarawak for a token sum of RM1.

The gesture is to honor Puan Sri Amar Laila Taib, the wife of the Sarawak Chief Minister who passed away April, 2009

The RM30mil Kolej Laila Taib college stands on 4ha at the old Sibu airport.

It is a state institution of higher learning and wholly owned and managed by the Sarawak government through Yayasan Sarawak.

The first intake of 300 students in April 2010 took up diploma courses in quantity surveying, civil engineering, electrical and electronic engineering, architecture and business management.

Upon graduation, the student will be able to continue to degree programmes without going to Australia or Britain as KLT has articulation arrangements with well-known universities in the two countries.

KLT aims to attain university-college status by 2012.

Kolej Laila Taib Education Fund was set up to provide scholarships for deserving students to pursue tertiary education.

Sarawakian students of all races with five SPM credits can apply for the scholarships of RM15,000 for a 3-year diploma programme.

Under principal Wong Kee Yew, UCS has made outstanding achievements in the education industry in Sarawak and Malaysia.

It is the first private higher educational institution to achieve recognition from Malaysian Qualifications Agency (previously known as Lembaga Akreditasi Negara), Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awan, Board of Quantity Surveyors Malaysia, Institution of Surveyors Malaysia, Chartered Institution of Builders and Institution of Engineers Malaysia.

UCS is a non-profit private institution set up by donors.

UCS was the brainchild of former Sarawak United People’s Party president and former deputy chief minister Tan Sri Dr Wong Soon Kai.

The college has 500 students and has produced more than 3,500 graduates by 2010 since its establishment in 1997.


Colleges in Sarawak and Sabah  September 08, 2016 10:19:12 PM

website statistics