Friday, 09 October, 2020 02:39:21 AM

Higher Education in Malaysia  >  Community Colleges

Community Colleges of Malaysia
Community Colleges under the Ministry of Higher Education Malaysia were established on 5 July 2000 with the setting up of five colleges. These Community Colleges were established to be institutions of excellence offering quality and dynamic education and training to SPM / SPM (V) school leavers who desire to attain some practical skills. It also provides a route to higher education. Their mission is to provide secondary school leavers and the local community (via short courses) the opportunity to develop their potential and achieve excellence through education and training.

From five colleges, the number of community colleges soon grew to 34 in 2003. In June 2007, there were already 37 community colleges established by the Ministry of Higher Education offering 21 certificate and five diploma programmes (Work Based Learning).
In July 2007, the total student enrolment for full-time course is about 14,000 and by year 2010, it is projected to have 60 community colleges in the country.

Objectives of Community Colleges
The Community Colleges in Malaysia were initially established with the objective of producing Malaysian graduates who possess practical skills as well as academic and generic knowledge before they enter the working world. Courses offered are in the fields of engineering, hospitality and fashion, multimedia, social service, agro-technology and business at the certificate and diploma level. Alternatively, with the foundation they have obtained from the Community College, graduates can further their studies at Polytechnics or some selected Community Colleges through a Diploma course.
The role of Community Colleges has expanded into becoming a hub for life long learning. These Community Colleges offer short-term courses in new skills training, training to upgrade existing skills as well as re-skill training to the local community such as housewives, retirees, NGOs, etc, to increase the people's lifestyle quality.

Programmes Offered
The courses of the Community Colleges have been specially-designed to produce graduates with the following abilities:
• Practical skills that are recognized and approved by certain industries;
• Basic academic knowledge that enable graduates to further their studies at polytechnics, university colleges and other educational institutions; and
• Generic skills such as workplace skills, interpersonal skills, system skills, technological hands-on skills, information processing ability and the use of resources skills.
Entry Requirements
Entry Requirements - Certificate Course
General Requirements
Malaysian citizens
Passed the SPM or SPM (V) examination & a pass in Bahasa Malaysia

Programme Structure
The Community College Certificate Course possesses the following structure and characteristics:
The minimum duration of study for a Certificate course is four
semesters while the maximum is 10 semesters;
"Hands-on" methodology where the ratio of practical and theory is 75% to 25%, and;
Flexible teaching and learning methodologies in the aspect of course structure, semester system as well as the grading

Course Intake
There are two (2) intakes in a year which are in June and December.

Entry Requirement - Diploma Course
• Malaysian citizen
• Pass Community College, Ministry of Higher Education Certificate related to the course applied for and fulfill the following minimum conditions:
Possess a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 3.00 and above or
Possess a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) between 2.5 to 2.99 with 1 (one) year's working experience
Possess a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) between 2.0 to 2.49 with 2 (two) year's working experience

Polytechnic and Community College Education
Polytechnic and Community College Education

Education and training at Polytechnics and Community Colleges are to fulfill the human capital needs of Malaysia through strategic management, relevant and dynamic curricula, effective training and career development programmes, based on the National Education Philosophy.

The Polytechnics and Community Colleges serve as alternative paths for high school graduates to further their education apart from public universities.

Polytechnic Education

Community Colleges

Provides relevant technological or entrepreneurial education and training. These are aimed at upgrading basic skills as well as to promote research and development projects in collaboration with businesses and industries. Aim to provide life-long learning opportunities for the community and high school graduates particularly those who study under the vocational stream. Students will be trained, ‘re-skilled’ or ‘up-skilled’, leading to the award of certificate qualification.

Community Colleges in Malaysia
Community Colleges in Malaysia

Kolej Komuniti Kuching, Kuching

Kolej Komuniti Tawau, Tawau
Kolej Komuniti Cawangan Semporna
Kolej Komuniti Tambunan

Kolej Komuniti Bandar Penawar
Branch campus in Bandar Tenggara
Kolej Komuniti Ledang, Tangkak
Kolej Komuniti Pasir Gudang
Branch campus in Tanjung Piai, Pontian
Kolej Komuniti Segamat, Segamat
Kolej Komuniti Segamat 2, Batu Aman
Kolej Komuniti Bandar Darulaman, Jitra
Kolej Komuniti Kulim, Kulim
Kolej Komuniti Sungai Petani
Kolej Komuniti Langkawi, Langkawi
Kolej Komuniti Masjid Tanah
Kolej Komuniti Bukit Beruang
Kolej Komuniti Jasin, Jasin
Kolej Komuniti Selandar, Selandar
Negeri Sembilan
Kolej Komuniti Jelebu, Kuala Klawang
Kolej Komuniti Jempol, Bahau
Kolej Komuniti Bentong, Karak
Kolej Komuniti Kuantan, Kuantan
Kolej Komuniti Mentakab, Temerloh
Kolej Komuniti Paya Besar, Gambang
Kolej Komuniti Rompin, Kuala Rompin
Kolej Komuniti Cawangan Raub, Raub
Kolej Komuniti Bayan Baru, Air Itam
Kolej Komuniti Kepala Batas
Kolej Komuniti Cawangan Bukit Mertajam, Tanah Liat
Kolej Komuniti Cawangan Nibong Tebal, Simpang Ampat
Kolej Komuniti Cawangan Tasek Gelugor
Kolej Komuniti Chenderoh, Kuala Kangsar
Kolej Komuniti Grik, Gerik
Kolej Komuniti Pasir Salak, Kampung Gajah
Kolej Komuniti Sungai Siput, Sungai Siput
Kolej Komuniti Teluk Intan, Seri Manjung
Kolej Komuniti Arau, Arau
Kolej Komuniti Hulu Langat, Kajang
Kolej Komuniti Hulu Selangor, Rawang
Kolej Komuniti Kuala Langat
Kolej Komuniti Sabak Bernam
Kolej Komuniti Selayang, Batu Caves
Kolej Komuniti Kuala Terengganu

Malaysian Qualification Framework (MQF)


Kolej Komuniti Tawau
Tawau Community College

Kolej Jururawat Masyarakat Tawau
Tawau Nurses Community College

Pusat Giat Mara Tawau
MARA Skill Training Center

Maktab Rendah Sains MARA Tawau (MRSM)
MARA Junior Science Colleges

Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)
University Technology MARA

Maktab Perguruan Tawau
(Institut Perguruan Tawau)
Tawau Teacher's Training College


Universiti Terbuka Malaysia Tawau
Open University Malaysia


Web Analytics
Education in Malaysia